Time to nominate YOUR community winner

Whaley Bridge Town Council wants your nominations for the 2014 Community Award.  Anyone can put forward the name of a local person or organisation that has made the most outstanding voluntary contribution during the year to benefit and improve the community.

The award can even be made posthumously. Nominees must be local and voluntary. A nominee cannot be put forward  by members of their family.

Nomination forms are available from the Mechanics’ Institute, Market Street, phone 01663 733 068 or by email from towncouncil@whaleybridge.com  All nominations must be submitted before Wednesday 30 April.

The award will be presented at the council’s annual town meeting, in the Mechanics’ Institute later in May.

Former chair Anne Winter, wearing chain, with winners last year

Former chair Anne Winter, wearing chain, with winners last year

Last year, there were so many excellent nominations, the judges found it impossible to separate the six best, who shared the title:

Joyce Shacklock, Daniel’s Light;  Loraine Coverley, work in the community;  Brian Jackson, chair of Whaley Bridge Volunteer Bureau; Frances Footitt, chair of Furness Vale Community Association; Tony Mackey, president of the Rose Queen Festival; George Tomlinson, former  chair of Furness Vale History Society.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.